Quinoa, Spinach, & Mushroom Quiche

This recipe started as a Whole Foods Recipe that I modified based on what I had in the house.

The quinoa for the most part settles to the bottom of the pan and creates a crust.  a few renegade pieces were left in the middle but tasted fine.  The quinoa didn’t get cooked like it normally would in water/stock where the little curly thingy pops out, but it was still quite tasty.

Ingredients:

non-stick cooking spray

1/3 cup quinoa

6 eggs

1/2 cup milk (I used Almond Milk – any type of milk works)

1 tablespoon chopped garlic

spices to taste (the original recipe called for fresh thyme which I didn’t have.  I used a small amount of powdered thyme – be careful, it can overwhelm the recipe.  I also used some dried basil.  I recommend using whatever spices you like including salt & pepper)

1 cup baby spinach (can be roughly chopped as the original recipe indicated, I left it whole and it worked fine)

2 small portabella mushrooms (again, use the amount you like)

1 tablespoon julienne sun-dried tomatoes

the original recipe also calls for Parmesan cheese which I didn’t include.  i’m sure it would be very good with it though.  If used, the cheese should be put on in the last 10-15 minutes.

 

Method:

preheat the oven to 350F.  Spray a pie pan with non-stick cooking spray

Rinse quinoa (i never do this, up to you).

Whisk eggs, milk, garlic, spices, and quinoa.  Add in vegetables.  pour mixture into a prepared dish.  cover with foil and shake it like a polaroid picture so the quinoa settles to the bottom.  Cook for 30-40 minutes.  Cook 10-15 minutes more uncovered.  

About Nedra Dias

a girl who likes to cook I traded in the ideals of my youth for a cubicle and a paycheck. My company traded me in, so I left the country for a month. View all posts by Nedra Dias

Leave a Reply

